PDA

View Full Version : Example Rosters (Jet2,Tui, WhizzAir, etc)

apin
6th Nov 2023, 17:07
Hello guys + gals,

I'm currently a military pilot, looking to make the transition to Airlines. I've done what research I can across the internet, but I'm finding any references to rosters quite vague - for example:

Jet2 - 'Random Roster'
TUI - 'Variable Pattern'
RyanAir - '5 on, 4 off'
WhizzAir - 'flexible and fixed roster patterns: 5/4, 14/7, 15/15, reverse and others'

It's really not much to go on when deciding to change careers, as there isn't any detail as to 'typical' flying days - are they max crew duty, lots of unsociable hours, lots of flights from non-home hubs?

I'm hoping with the help of you individuals posting anonymous, old rosters, that this could become a useful thread for pilots to reference when looking at prospective employers, to get a bit of 'warts and all' detail to see if it's a good fit for the individual.

Thank you for your help!

nickler
6th Nov 2023, 19:22
any detail as to 'typical' flying days - are they max crew duty, lots of unsociable hours, lots of flights from non-home hubs?

Yes.

Even if You fly from home expect up to 6 days waking up at 3.30am with mostly 4 sectors day or up to 6 days with late start times but getting home at midnight at best.
That’s Low Cost life in Europe.

Whitemonk Returns
6th Nov 2023, 19:37
Yes.

Even if You fly from home expect up to 6 days waking up at 3.30am with mostly 4 sectors day or up to 6 days with late start times but getting home at midnight at best.

Only if you work for a rubbish airline. My november 'random roster' is:
Starts off with 5 duty days, a mixture of mid to long 2 sector days, three days flying.
then the rest of the month is two to three days off and then a 4 day run of home standbys, repeat, I dont expect to get called on the standbys this time of year but sickness levels seem higher than normal at the moment so maybe once or twice over the three weeks