PDA

View Full Version : FMS study materials?

KC-10 Driver
15th May 2002, 04:23
I am putting out a request for any suggestions on study materials for a crash course on FMS testing. Here's my situation:

I have been recently tasked to become the "pilot expert" in the testing phase of a major cockpit upgrade to the USAF fleet of KC-10's. This upgrade will include new Honeywell FMS's as well as an all-glass instrument panel. I will be involved as a line instructor pilot to help find glitches and bugs in the system before the fleet is upgraded.

My background includes about 500 hours in the 757/767 and about 550 hours in the A320 with my civilian airline job (I'm a military reservist), so I'm actually pretty comfortable with modern avionics. Also, I have an undergraduate degree in engineering at the baccalaureate level (albeit 13 years ago).

I expect to have plenty of resources available to me in my upcoming assignment. However, I know that there is a lot of experience out there in the pprune world, and you folks could recommend some materials that the USAF or Honeywell might not provide.

My goal is to come up with the best product possible for the USAF. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

vmommo
19th May 2002, 03:23
Check out www.firstnethou.com/fmcman/ for the excellent Honeywell FMC manuals. These are the best I have found so far.

www.bluecoat.org would be a good place to ask specific FMC questions, and get information.

My advice is to keep things as simple and pilot friendly as possible. Good luck with your project!

John Farley
19th May 2002, 19:47
Hi KC-10 Driver

I imagine that you have considerable experience of the operational role that your modified aeroplanes will eventually be used for, or else you would not have been chosen for this job.