PDA

View Full Version : Instrument training

FlyingForFun
2nd Jul 2008, 10:32
Please excuse me in advance for barging into the ATC forum and coming up with the rant which follows. It's not directed at any particular unit or person. I don't know what the solution is, or even if there is a solution, but I'm hoping that by expressing my frustrations on this forum someone will be able to suggest a solution.

My rant relates to the ever increasing difficulty in conducting instrument training.

As a flying instructor, I have only been involved in instrument training for a few years, but in that short time I have noticed that it is getting increasingly difficult to arrange the ATC services necessary to be able to plan a day's schedule, and provide my students with relevant training.
I am used to having to book a training slot for carrying out instrument approaches, whether at my home airfield or away from home. But over the past few years, as regional airports become busier with commercial traffic, more and more airports are imposing restrictions on the times of training (no training during busy hours), the types of training (no procedural training, or procedural training only allowed off-peak), or no training at all. One local airport will allow CAA examiners to carry out instrument training as part of a test, but will not allow instructors to visit the airport for training. Another has increased its charges so much that we avoid training there.

Trying to plan a busy day around these restrictions is becoming a more and more frustrating task.

The reason why I've chosen to rant now, though, is because of two recent developments.