PDA

View Full Version : Faa Agi(i)

MungoP
19th Apr 2008, 11:13
Need a bit of advice here from anyone who has gone this route...
I'm currently studying for an FAA ground instructor rating (AGI) and will then need to get the instrument add-on (AGII)...
I"m working with 2 Gleim publications; "Fundamentals of Instructing" and "Flight/Ground Instructor".
It's not clear from the pre-amble where studying for a ground instructor rating differs from the flying instructor rating... and I'm trying to avoid wasting time learning stuff that doesn't apply to me.

Have to admit I'm finding the studying about as interesting as eating my way through 20 kilos of dried biscuits.... Having studied numerous a/c systems over the past 20 odd years and for the most part enjoyed it I'm now faced with such fascinating material as:

Q. "Insights as applied to Learning involve a Persons .... ? "

A. "Grouping of Associated Perceptions into a Meaningful Whole". :hmm:

Sorry... did I nod off there for a moment...

There has to be an easier way to jump through this hoop... Over the years I've introduced countless newbie F/Os into the world of aviation and seen them go succesfully on their way to great things... and all without the benefit of tripe like that Q above...

cypilot77
22nd Apr 2008, 16:00
AGI and IGI are the easiest test you can take. Basically you have to take one test for FOI (fundamentals of instructing), one test for the ground instructor and another for the instrument instructor.
The questions for the instrument are the same ones used for the instrument rating and the advanced ground instructor questions are the same one flight instructors use. Thats why it makes sense to take those test while you are doing your flight training because you study the same material anyway.
Once you passed the 3 tests, take the results to the local FSDO and the inspector will issue you the license with no additional testing.