PDA

View Full Version : Ba's DEP fleets

pulman
1st Oct 2004, 10:56
Hello all!
I am a B737 pilot who has just applied for BA's DEP scheme.
I was wondering weather someone may be able to clarify the following issues:
1)What sort of fleet may DEP's go to?, is there any possibility of going strait on to a B777 for example?
2)what sort of loss of income/licence insurance does BA use?
3)what is the new pension plan all about?
3)how many pilots is BA looking for?

Thanks for any info!
cheers!
Pulman

Cough
1st Oct 2004, 11:03
Pullman, (0/10 for question numbering by the way)

1) Probably your current type. i.e. you would go to LGW on the 737.
2) Believe 150k FO, 200k Capt.
3) Dunno.
3b) 100+

Omark44
1st Oct 2004, 12:27
And the ability to differentiate between "Weather" and "Whether"!;)

pulman
1st Oct 2004, 12:37
Cough, thanks for the info!
I am working on my question numbering, so I have prepared another two.
1)What sort of annual salary can a year 1 F/O bring home after tax including all allowances?
2)How many years to command on the short haul fleet?

Hopefully I will score better this time!!

Thanks!

Pulman

expedite_climb
1st Oct 2004, 12:58
pulman,

1) Not working there yet, but from what I can gleam average Gross including flight pay for a year one FO short haul should come out at £54000, so I'd say £2900-3000 p.c.m. There is a payrise (to be backdated) about to go through too. Heres the breakdown :

Basic = £40,500
Flight pay (fully taxed) = ~ 750hrs * £8 = £6000
Time away from base (estimated 2500-3500) = 3000 * £2.58 = £7740 (Only taxed at about 7%)

Total Gross= £54,240

2) A long time. In past in has been very short, but now more than 10 years, but of course the tide comes in and goes out again every so often.

Hand Solo
1st Oct 2004, 13:21